•  
  • Übersicht

Land und Leute

Why are there no all-way stops in Europe?

Betrifft

Why are there no all-way stops in Europe?

Kommentar

I've been driving in Germany for about 6 months now and have gotten used to the dreaded "Rechts hat die Vorfahrt" rule, but one thing I miss from Canada is the all-way stop. I just have to wonder why to all-way stop does not exist in Europe. I don't usually say this, but I really think that they are better, safer, simpler and make a log more sense than what you have here in Europe.

In Canada when you come to a stop sign you stop and if it's an all-way stop everyone stops. You don't ignore them only part of the time, such as when a signal loses power like in Germany. When getting our driver's licenses we learn four simple rules. 1)Whoever arrives at the intersection first may go first after coming to a full stop. 2) If two cars arrive simultaneously then the car on the right goes first. 3) Rules 1 and 2 are not laws, but simply standard conventions. 4) Never assert the right of way as there is no right of way.

With all-way stops being the norm in North America when traffic lights lose power those intersections are treated as all-way stops. Here is such a video of one in operation (or should I say out of operation?) in Texas:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6flstk6MLSY

By not having an all-way stop rule in Europe the risk of things going wrong, i.e. accidents happening is greatly increased and you have weird setups where intersections with traffic lights are also fitted with stop, yield and priority road signs. What does the priority road sign even do to promote safety anyway? Why do these signs even exist? If they all disappeared there would probably be even less accidents as idiots would no longer have an excuse to assert the right of way as aggressively as they currently do.

VerfasserFloction (872731) 08 Sep. 12, 10:39
    Kommentar
    When you say 'Europe' you mean 'Germany', right?