Advertising
LEO

It looks like you’re using an ad blocker.

Would you like to support LEO?

Disable your ad blocker for LEO or make a donation.

•  
  • Forum home

German missing

I graduated in June 07 with a 2:1 BA degree in German

Subject

I graduated in June 07 with a 2:1 BA degree in German

Sources
    Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,
    in Juni 2007 habe ich meinen Hochschulabschluss in Deutsch und Russisch gemacht

also
    Die Dauer meines Aufenthalt in Deutschland ist ungefähr 4 Monaten – von ende März bis Juli aber ich kann flexibel sein. - any comments on whether this sounds right would be awesome.
    Comment
    Hi guys,
    I'm writing a cover letter for a job in Germany but since my graduation I really haven't been keeping up with it and now I've lost all confidence and can't even trust myself to write a simple covering letter! Any help is much appreciated.
    I'm applying for an internship as a translator with a view to going on to do a Master's in translation in September.
    So far I've got Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,
    in Juni 2007 habe ich meinen Hochschulabschluss in Deutsch und Russisch gemacht
    and I just want to include the fact that I got a 2:1 and it was a BA - I want to keep these details in English because I believe 'equivalents' just don't cut it but I just don't know how I can structure the sentence to fit them in.
    Thank you thank you thank you!
    Lucy
    AuthorLooloobelle (413002) 09 Mar 08, 12:16
    Comment
    what exactly is a 2:1 bachelor's degree?
    #1Author Todd (275243) 09 Mar 08, 12:25
    Comment
    double major?

In June 2007, I received a Bachelor of Arts degree from X University, with a double major in German and Russian.
    #2Author Todd (275243) 09 Mar 08, 12:28
    Sources
    Comment
    no, Todd, this is a British way of expressing results.

You can graduate with a first, an upper second (2:1), a lower second (2:2) or a lower-class degree
    #3Author penguin (236245) 09 Mar 08, 12:31